New Recipe

I feel like I haven’t blogged about food in a while, so here goes!

On Sunday morning, I woke up convinced that I had to cook myself a balanced and healthy dinner that night. On my way home from church, I stopped by the Hung Hom local market and bought a variety of groceries – cabbage, peppers, carrots, a cucumber, and spring onions. I had no idea what I was going to make so I decided to go with the flow of whatever my fingers picked. I always cook with shrimp and chicken so I decided to try something different, I got myself a nice (but relatively expensive) filet of salmon.  On reaching my apartment building, I got the sudden urge to buy potatoes so I ran back to the market to buy a few. I hadn’t eaten boiled potatoes since summer! I forgot I had signed up to cheer for a track meet, so that took up most of my afternoon. Our group ended up having (free) dinner together afterwards at a nearby Chinese restaurant with amazing dishes so that discarded my plans to cook that night.

So on Monday I was determined. I found a simple recipe for grilled or pan-seared salmon on allrecipes.com and decided to make that with some boiled potatoes and stir-fried vegetables with sesame oil. I had most of the needed ingredients and those I didn’t have, I borrowed from some friends. I forgot to take pictures of my salmon marinating in the soy sauce and sugar marinade, but here are a few photos of the finished and semi-finished dish. 🙂

Image

Image

Image

I don’t mean to brag, but this meal was perfect! That was the juiciest piece of salmon I had ever had and I’m sure I wouldn’t have found that in any restaurant here. Try the recipe out, it’s really easy to make and promises a tasty piece of fish! I didn’t have brown sugar, so I used normal granulated sugar with a chili soy sauce and corn oil. Yummm!

About foodtravelsclassworkfunhongkong

College student studying abroad. Not trying to "discover myself" or anything...
This entry was posted in Food, Hong Kong, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

