Kitchen Dangers + First Cooked Meal

Until last night, I hadn’t cooked a proper meal in the kitchen in my apartment. Not counting instant noodles or eggs, of course. I’d been eating out most dinners and I decided it was time to quit the laziness, go out and buy groceries, and have some intimate bonding time with my kitchen. I didn’t make a hefty or complex meal, but I’m glad I was finally able to cook something substantial (and REALLY yummy!)

One of my roommates had told me how basically, the stove here is on some crazy steroids. It heats up really quickly and frying food for example, becomes 10 times more dangerous. Hot oil had just splattered on her face while frying eggs, and she had a nasty burn mark on the spot. You can imagine how geared up and ready I was with my apron and gloves on, especially because I had to fry some onions to make my tomato sauce. I had to keep turning the stove on and off (reducing the heat made no difference) to make sure my sauce didn’t get too hot and splash on me/all over the place. At the end of the day, I still ended up with some battle scars but luckily, nothing serious. 

Image

Pasta and shrimp marinara 🙂 

It had also been a while since I had done that many dishes! 

About foodtravelsclassworkfunhongkong

College student studying abroad. Not trying to "discover myself" or anything...
This entry was posted in Food, Hong Kong. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

