Kwai Fong

Last night I did some shopping in Kwai Fong with some friends. We walked out of the KF (Can I call it KF?) station and right in front of us were two large malls: a high-class expensive mall with all the designer stores, and a MUCH cheaper shopping complex with smaller boutiques and ladies beckoning you to enter their stores. What was fascinating was that the two malls are connected by a tunnel, so we could easily switch between malls if we wanted. We decided to start off with the cheaper mall and funny enough, never actually got to the more glam one. Most times, when I see really cheap stuff, clothes and accessories particularly, I immediately think low quality. But there were so many things I saw that kept me gaping at the discounted prices. This isn’t to say that there weren’t any knock-off and designer-imitation items…

Image

Those mannequins are kind of freaky, aren’t they?

I bought a few sheer tops (just what I need for this unbearable heat) and some jewelry. We all agreed that we’d be visiting Kwai Fong again, but that we’d budget a little more time, maybe a weekend. But I’m really excited to go to those really cheap tailors I keep hearing about. I’ve got so many things I want to get made before I leave here! Hopefully, I’ll be putting up a post about that soon.

P.S. I apologize for the poor quality photos. My camera is a bit too bulky to take to class with me everyday so my phone’s been doing a lot of picture-taking recently.

About foodtravelsclassworkfunhongkong

College student studying abroad. Not trying to "discover myself" or anything...
This entry was posted in Hong Kong, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

